Level 1 – Rules v3 (Article 3)

Euphonium

Welcome back to Level 1 – 9th CX’s rules column! We take some commonly asked questions from the game and present the answers here with the appropriate rules citations.

Standard disclaimer – we are here to present situations and answers to the best of our knowledge and understanding of the rules. Some answers may be based on FAQs that are on Bushiroad’s WS website. Other questions may not necessarily need rules citations to be true. If we catch something wrong, we’ll correct it ASAP.

With that, let’s dive into the next set of questions!

Q: Can an event with a Backup (Counter Step) timing be played even if none of your characters are being front attacked?

A: It depends! If you are trying to play an event during your opponent’s turn that has Counter Step timing without a character being front attacked, the short answer is, you can’t. The only time the Counter Step is entered is if and only if a character is being front attacked. However, unless the card specifically says “You cannot play this event outside of the Counter Step”, you can play it normally on your turn during your main phase.

Q: Is there a limit to event cards in a deck?

A: Nope! You can play a deck with all events if you really want to, provided the card pool in your series has enough of them!

Q: If there’s no limit to event cards, then what about level 3 characters? How about…

A: No limits exist for the types of cards you use, with CXs being the only exception. You can use at most 8 CXs per deck, and your deck must be exactly 50 cards. What you do with how you want to spread those cards out across levels is entirely up to you!

Q: So if I wanted to play 30 level 3s…

A: Completely legal. (Questionable, but perfectly legal.)

Q: Whenever you play a card that manipulates your opponent’s stock, (e.g. when this card is played, put the top card of your opponent’s stock into their waiting room) and that effect allows you to put any card in their waiting room into stock, do you have to show them what you put there?

A: Yes. All information in an open (public) zone is considered known information, and the identity of the card needs to be kept clear in order to verify that the number of cards that are going into stock is legal. Note that this is different from an effect that instructs you to draw X cards. In the case of a player being instructed to draw X cards, only the quantity needs to be verified, because the cards are going from a closed zone to another closed zone. Because the card is going from an open (public) zone to a closed zone, both players have the full rights to know exactly what card is being moved.

As a side note, if a player tries to obscure the number of cards and/or the card that is going to stock as a result of this kind of effect, call a judge. That kind of behavior is inappropriate.

Q: When do you have to shuffle your deck? Is it only after effects that instruct you to shuffle your deck, or is it after any time you take any action with the deck?

A: If we had to shuffle after every deck action, the game would probably be called WS Shuffle! The only times you have to (and can) shuffle your deck is after a game rule or card (or in rare circumstances, a judge) instructs you to do so. You cannot arbitrarily shuffle your deck whenever you want. (Read: That’s cheating)

Q: What does it mean when an ability says “This activates up to once per turn”? For example, if I play 3 Musashi (or similar cards that have an ability with that clause), will I only get one instance of their ability period, or will I get up to one instance of the ability per card?

A: Any time you have a card that reads “This ability activates up to X times per turn”, that stipulation is attached to that card and that card only. No number of duplicate cards (that presumably can have the same effect), will cause the abilities to cancel each other out or max out. So, if you play 3 Musashi, each of them will have an independent instance of the punish burn ability. It should also be noted that none of them will proc (trigger) the other. (That is, if you cancel with Musashi A, the other two (Musashi B and Musashi C) will look over, yawn, and not do anything.)

Q: Can you orient your cards in a certain way to-

A: If it has anything to do with placing your cards in a certain way as a mnemonic device, the answer is and always will be, no. If you notice your opponent doing something like that, call a judge.

We’ve received a couple more set-specific questions, so we’ll address those here now!

Q: Set is KanColle. The cards are Sendai and her CX combo “We must go into night combat!”. Sendai’s ability reads that when the CX is played, she gets the ability “All Level 1 or lower characters get +2 soul” until the end of your opponent’s next turn.

a. Exactly how long does this ability last?

b. If Sendai gets sent to the waiting room, will the effect still be active?

c. Does (will) the effect apply to freshly played characters?

A: (a) The effect will last until the end of your turn, and the end of your opponent’s next turn, and that’s it. Only 1 turn cycle!

(b) If Sendai sinks (or gets bounced), her ability will not be around to boost level 1 and lower characters. If she is encored, she comes back as a new object and will not remember how to give everyone +2 soul.

(c) The effect does apply to characters played after her effect resolves because it is a continuous (static) ability. If Sendai gave the ability “This character gets +2 soul” to each level 1 or lower character at the time of its CX combo resolving, then her ability would not apply to freshly played characters. However, because the ability is distinctly tied to Sendai, it does apply to any and all level 1 and lower characters, regardless of when they are played.

Q: Set is Kill La Kill. The cards are Spinning Wheel of Fate, Nui, and Dodging Nui. Dodging Nui has an ability that triggers when it is front attacked, you can send it to the waiting room to put a Spinning Wheel of Fate, Nui in your hand onto the stage as the defending character. The questions are about what happens when the Dodging Nui’s effect resolves and the Spinning Wheel of Fate, Nui’s second effect (When this card is placed to the stage from your hand, you may choose a level 2 or lower character your opponent controls, and send it to the waiting room. If you do, your opponent chooses up to 1 level 0 or lower character in the waiting room and places it in the slot the other character was in) is used.

a. At what stage of the battle does the swap occur?

b. Does the attack still go through even though the target was changed?

c. If I use the Fate Nui’s effect on my opponent’s attacking character, do they still get stock from the attack?

d. If the attacking character is swapped out with a level 0, can that level 0 character attack?

e. If the old attacking character is immediately encored (by paying 3 stock, etc), is a new attack made or is the attack from before continued?

A:

a. The swap will occur during the attack declaration step. This is before the Counter step.

b. It depends. If you use Nui’s ability on the character that is attacking, the attack will not go through because the character won’t be around during the damage step to deal its damage. If you use it on another character, the attack will go through, and the battle step will happen because Nui’s ability specifically puts the other Nui in as the defending character. (If the ability did not specify ‘defending character’, the battle step would not occur since one or both characters involved changed zones)

c. Yes. The attacking character, though moved, is not stipulated to be present at the time of the trigger step in order to resolve. Note that this is distinctly different from the damage step, where a character does need to be present in order to deal damage.

d. Yes.

e. No. Remember, encored characters return to the stage in the rested position! And, whenever a character changes position in battle (and its position is not ‘remembered’ explicitly by a card effect), it cannot deal damage. (CR 7.5.1.2.2)


 

We’re all out of space this time, but we will be back with more questions! Have any more you’re itching to ask? Drop us a line here, in our question pool!

Please visit our sponsor Center Stage Games!

Be sure to sign up for our monthly giveaway, follow us on Twitch and subscribe to our YouTube channel! Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Level 1 – Rules v3 (Article 3)

Comments are closed.