Level 1 – Rules Questions (Article 1)

objection

Welcome to Level 1 – 9th CX’s rules column! We take some commonly asked questions from the game and present the answers here with the appropriate rules citations. WS has a pretty distinct flow that makes it unique, and sometimes that means that odd situations come up during games.

Standard disclaimer here – we are here to present the rules answers to the best of our knowledge and understanding of the rules. Some answers may be based on FAQs that are on Bushiroad’s WS website. Other questions may not necessarily need rules citations to be true. If we catch something wrong, we’ll correct it ASAP.

So let’s move to our first set of questions!

Q: What happens if both players have an effect that happens at the same time?

A: The turn player (active player) must resolve his or her effect first. Sometimes, this means that the inactive player may not get to resolve an ability because his or her card changed zones. But, these effects are on a card-by-card basis, so be sure to pay attention to if a card needs to be on the stage (in a certain position etc) to have its effect resolve! (CR 1.3.4.)

Q: Is it possible to draw a game?

A: Yes! If both players fulfill a loss condition at the same time, both players lose, and the game is a draw. The two loss conditions are being at level 4, and having no cards in deck and waiting room. (CR 1.2.3.)

Q: If I side attack and remain at negative soul, do I take damage?

A: Nope! Negative soul does not affect anything other than calculating soul for a given attack. (CR 7.5.1.2.1.) If a character you attack with has 0 or less soul after the trigger step, the character just doesn’t deal damage. Negative soul doesn’t make your opponent heal, and doesn’t make you take damage.

Q: What do the rules say about Backup effects versus event backups? Do I need the color in my level or clock for either?

A: The Counter Step is the time of the game where the inactive player can play the ability of a character that has Backup, or play an event card that has Counter Step Timing (aka the punch symbol). (CR 7.4.1.) For characters that have the Backup ability, the only thing that needs to be true is that the user is at the appropriate level to use the ability. Again, to use a character’s Backup ability, you do NOT need the right color in level or clock. You only need to be at the correct level. To use an event during the counter step however, you DO need to both fulfill the level and color requirement to play the card (as well as any other requirements that the card might state, such as controlling a certain character, etc). Note, you can only take one action during the Counter Step. You can play one Backup, play one event with counter step timing, or do nothing. (CR 7.4)

Q: If I have a character that gets character encore when I control X other characters, does it refer to the number of characters I control before or after it goes to the waiting room?

A: It depends. Encore is an ability that triggers from the waiting room. Unlike other abilities that may not ‘track’ where an object moves from zone to zone, encore will always ‘remember’ what conditions were fulfilled when the character was sent to the waiting room. Remember, encore phase is resolved one at a time, that is, reversed characters are sent to the waiting room one at a time, in turn player order. So, if you have enough characters to satisfy the requirement of another character to gain character encore and you encore that character first, you will be able to bring it back using either 3 stock or a character from hand. If you let other characters go to the waiting room first and let them stay there, your character will lose its special encore ability. (CR 7.7.)

Q: Does the position of a card affect its abilities? (e.g. giving power, etc)

A: No, for the most part. A card that would have its abilities affected by its position would be worded something like, “As long as this character is in STAND, [effect]”. If a card has an ability worded that way, then it would be affected by its position. Otherwise, no, the card’s position will not affect its abilities. It can however, prevent a card’s ability cost from being paid. (For example, if you have a character that has an ability that hasresting it as a cost and it is already rested, you can’t use that character’s ability because you can’t rest an already rested character to pay a cost.) (CR 8.4.)

Q: If a defending character is taken away during a battle (e.g. Classic Trap from Kill La Kill, Wind/Bounce trigger), does it change the type of attack that is being made?

A: Nope, never! An attack type, be it direct, frontal, or side, is locked in at the time of declaration and cannot be changed. (CR 7.2.1.4.3.)

Q: Regarding deck colors – is it possible to have level 0 characters and CXs that are not in your deck’s main colors? (i.e. can you play green CXs and green level 0 characters in a yellow/blue deck)

A: Short answer, yes to both. Longer answers: level 0 characters don’t have the color requirement to play. That is, you can play any level 0 character you want in any deck without having to worry about color restriction. As for CX cards, yes, you can still play an off-color CX, but (from a strategic standpoint) you may find them hard to use because while CX cards do not use a level requirement, they do use the color requirement. (CR 8.6.2.1.1.1)

Q: What happens when a character is reduced to 0 or lower power?

A: The next time that a check timing is performed (basically, the next time a player would be allowed to take any game action), that character is put into the waiting room. (CR 9.5.1.) Note, that character can be brought back via encore (unless an effect states otherwise), and if it is brought back, it will come back with its power as printed.

Q: Can I just send a character I control to the waiting room, just because?

A: No, but you can play a character over any character you want to send it to the waiting room, whether or not you have a full stage. (CR 9.6.)

Q: Can I use more than one Backup at a time?

A: If by more than one you mean more than one ability or card during the Counter Step, no. Only one card or Backup effect can be used per Counter Step. (CR 7.4.1.2.2.)

Q: What happens if the last card in my deck is a Door (Comeback/Salvage) trigger and I trigger it?

A: Very sad times happen. First, your card is put into the resolution zone as it’s being revealed. Because at that exact moment you don’t have any cards left in your deck, the game uses an interrupt process to force you to refresh your deck. You refresh your deck, then gain a refresh point. You resolve your trigger, but because there isn’t anything in your waiting room, you won’t be able to get anything back. Your triggered card will go to stock as the last part of resolving the trigger step, and then you’ll resolve your refresh point penalty by putting the top card of your deck into your clock. (CR 7.3.1.2., 9.2.1., 9.2.2.)

Q: Wait, what about if the last card is a Book (Draw) trigger?

A: Much happier things happen! Your card is put into the resolution zone as it’s revealed. Because you don’t have any cards left in your deck, the game interrupts you and makes you refresh the deck and gain a refresh point. You resolve your trigger, and you may then draw a card. Note that you will not resolve your refresh point first, so be careful! If you resolve your refresh point right after you’ve refreshed your deck, it is taken that you declined your draw!

Q: If a character I control has an ability that lets it stand when it reverses a character in battle, what happens if it’s a double KO and both characters are reversed?

A: You will still have fulfilled your character’s requirement of it reversing another character in battle, and if you pay the cost for the ability (if there is one), your character will stand, regardless of whether it is rested or reversed. Note that in this situation, if your opponent’s character has an ability that triggers when reversing a character on either player’s turn, he or she will also be able to use that ability too, and that may impact your ability to use your character again.

Q: I use a Brainstorm ability that reveals the top 4 cards of my deck, and I only have 4 cards left in my deck. I also have 6 cards in clock and it’s a full moon. What happens?

A: The first thing that happens is you pay your cost. Once your cost has been paid (we’re going to assume for this example that your cost does not involve putting a card from your deck into clock), you resolve the ability. Because Brainstorm involves multiple cards moving from a closed zone to an open zone, they stop in what is called the “resolution zone”. (CR 10.7.3.) While your 4 cards are hanging out in the resolution zone, the game stops you and says, “Ah ha! You’re out of cards! REFRESH NOW!” So while your cards are stuck in limbo (i.e. the resolution zone), they aren’t in your deck, but they aren’t in your waiting room either. Your deck will refresh without those 4 cards, and you gain a refresh point. After that, you resolve your Brainstorm ability (i.e. search your deck for characters, give power, etc, if you hit any CXs), and once all of that is done, you resolve your refresh penalty. You resolve the refresh penalty last because it is part of a check timing, and check timings do not happen until after an ability has finished resolving. (If you have 6 cards in clock and you resolve your refresh penalty, you resolve your level up then, and not at any point before.)


Whew! That was a lot of questions! Have any more you’re itching to ask? Drop us a line here, in our question pool! Be sure to sign up for our monthly giveaway, follow us on Twitch and subscribe to our YouTube channel! Thanks for reading!